Google(NASDAQ:GOOG) uses Gmail ininto track A history Of things You buy — & it’s hard ininto deleteCNBC #Your_Gmail

Google(NASDAQ:GOOG) uses Gmail ininto track A history Of things You buy — & it’s hard ininto deleteCNBC #Your_Gmail

May 17, 2019 0 By NewsTakers

Google tracks a lot of what you buy, even if you purchased it elsewhere, like in a store or from Amazon.
Last week, CEO Sundar Pichai wrote a New York Times op-ed that said “privacy cannot be a luxury good.”
But behind the scenes, Google is still collecting a lot of personal information from the services you use, like Gmail, and some of it can’t be easily deleted.
Google even knows about things I long forgot I’d purchased, like dress shoes I bought inside a Macy’s store on September 14, 2015.
“To help you easily view and keep track of your purchases, bookings and subscriptions in one place, we’ve created a private destination that can only be seen by you,” a Google spokesperson told CNBC.
“You can delete this information at any time.
In order to remove them from Google Purchases and keep them in your Gmail inbox , you need to delete them one by one from the Purchases page.
But it says “Information about your orders may also be saved with your activity in other Google services, ” and that you can see and delete this information on a separate “My Activity” page.
Google says it doesn’t use your Gmail to show you ads and promises it “does not sell your personal information, which includes your Gmail and Google Account information,” and does “not share your personal information with advertisers, unless you have asked us to.”
Even if it’s not being used for ads, there’s no clear reason why Google would need to track years of purchases and make it hard to delete that information.

They’ve been forcing the account chooser on everyone for a long time, regardless of browser used, which for me is the same thing as this new issue. Previously there was one last way you could opt out of account chooser by visiting an “opt out” cookie, but that no longer works. The account chooser doesn’t properly sign you out when clicking “sign out”, it keeps your name and email address on display unless you�…

Source link